How does ISO accreditation apply to you?

  • Published on: 20 October 2017
  • By: Frances Talman

ISO accreditation's have become an important standard that businesses are required to achieve and practice should they wish to establish credibility with buyers. There are many ISO accreditation's that manage different aspects of business operations. The International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO) has been put in place to ensure that company processes, services, materials and products are all fit for purpose ensuring that they are meeting the set requirements and specifications set by ISO. There is a range of ISO Standards that will assist with your business growth and development. We will go through the most relevant ISOs and provide a simple brief about their purpose and application.

ISO 9001

ISO 9001 standards outline the requirement an organisation must meet and maintain in their quality management system to achieve and retain accreditation. The standard drives an organisation to develop and maintain processes and procedures to assure and improve quality standards across the business and supply chain. The requirements your organisation need to meet are contained in sections 4-10 of the list below. 

  • Section 1: Scope
  • Section 2: Normative References
  • Section 3: Terms and Definitions
  • Section 4: Context of the Organisation
  • Section 5: Leadership
  • Section 6: Planning
  • Section 7: Support
  • Section 8: Operation
  • Section 9: Performance Evaluation
  • Section 10: Improvement

Organisations need to consider and meet these requirements to demonstrate their commitment to quality and continuous improvement.  

ISO 14001

ISO 14001 is the environmental management standard that an organisation can use to enhance its environmental performance. This standard demonstrates to your clients and customers that you have a strong and robust environmental management system and that you have process and procedures in place that consider and minimise your environmental impacts. The standard will help businesses consider air pollution, waste management and energy utilisation. This standard will assist in:

  • The enhancement of environmental performance
  • Fulfilment of compliance obligations
  • Setting and achieving environmental objectives

The standard is applicable to all types of business and of various sizes and scope of services.  

ISO 18001

ISO 18001 is an internationally recognised assessment specification for occupational health and safety management systems (OHSAS).  OHSAS provides a framework that allows the organisation to consistently identify and control its health and safety risks, reduce the potential for accidents, aid legislative compliance and improve overall performance. 

ISO 18001 addresses the following key areas:

  • Hazard identification, risk assessment and determining controls
  • Legal and other requirements
  • Objectives and OHS program(s)
  • Resources, roles, responsibility, accountability and authority
  • Competence, training and awareness
  • Communication, participation and consultation
  • Operational control
  • Emergency preparedness and response
  • Performance measuring, monitoring and improvement

These standards demonstrate credibility of your health and safety systems, particularly in the construction and engineering sectors. Your customer and potential buyers will instantly know that you are serious about protecting your workforce and minimising accidents in the workplace. 

ISO 27001

ISO 27001 standards specify the requirements for establishing, implementing, maintaining and continually improving an information security management system within your organisation. This includes requirements for the assessment and treatment of information security risks bespoke to the needs of your organisation. The requirements specified in the standard are generic and are applicable to all organisations regardless of type, size or nature. There are 12 main elements to ISO 27001:

  1. Risk assessment
  2. Security policy
  3. Organisation of information security
  4. Asset management 
  5. Human resources security
  6. Physical and environmental security
  7. Communications and operations management
  8. Access control 
  9. Information systems acquisition, development and maintenance 
  10. Information security incident management 
  11. Business continuity management 
  12. Compliance

The standard describes the best business practises for your information security management system. Companies who are compliant to ISO 27001 immediately demonstrate that they follow the best security practises for the handling of data, both personal and client information and shows that you take security measures very seriously. 

There are a number of additional ISO standards that cover different business areas. To discuss your ISO needs with one of our consultants contact eXceeding today on 03333 555 111 or email [email protected].